Mirror Mirror Pt. 1

Why must you look at me with such hate in your eyes?
You wait until I’m no longer breathing to care, or at least until your life is on the line
Is this what I have to face everyday; is this the downfall to me having black pride?
Are you the monster people create, when a father or mother doesn’t take the time?

Maybe it’s just me, maybe I’m slightly out of my mind
I mean more of my kind are sitting behind bars for a multitude of crimes
So I mean I guess I fit into that genotype, or stereotype
Or at least the type to get life sentences for ten dollar crimes

You constantly prey on me because you refuse to allow me to grow into my complete self
Are you scared of what I can grow to be, are you scared that it’s not someone else?
You belittle my story and discourage it with your music
Slander my culture constantly and disrespect black women like they are useless

Mirror Mirror help me find myself, or is it myself I have to run from
I wish my wish could reach the masses, well at least more than one
I don’t want to be poached or killed, but that’s the reality that darkens my son
Die fast or die slow seems to be my only options and right now I don’t really want either one

I try so hard to understand what I’ve done to you
The ancestors of my ancestors have given you nothing but opportunity and fortitude
The hospitality seemed universal to me but….
You’ve done nothing but stay consistently misguided and demonstrably rude

It’s funny because recently, we’ve seen outcries, we’ve even seen quite a bit of knowledge
Now in order for you to understand the magnitude of the issue, we had to take a professor that did an experiment at her college
Jane Elliot asked, “By a show of hands, how of you all want to be treated like black people?”

Nobody raised their hand…Not a soul could understand the power in the air with the absence of hands…Not a soul could understand what it felt like to be a black woman nor a black man…Unconsciously blinded by the propaganda in media announcing that their is no true issue at hand…Yet nobody insisted on wanting to being treated like a black woman or a black man

Mirror Mirror help me find myself, or is it myself I have to run from
I wish my wish could reach the masses, well at least more than one
I don’t want to be poached or killed, but that’s the reality that darkens my son
Die fast or die slow seems to be my only options and right now I don’t really want either one

Now I ask you, why must you hate me?
The skin I’m in, I did not choose, you address me as if I lack knowledge and others like they have so much more to offer
My ancestors were significant parts of this country as carpenters, pastors, teachers and even doctors
Blacks made great workers but at one point and still to this day, they make a hell of a mother and one of a kind fathers

But you slander them too, in your memes and deconstruct the power behind what it means to be a strong black woman or a strong black man
You crack jokes and send subliminal insults around the American prejudice, throwing away my dignity like you were aiming for a trash can

It’s crazy how American Whites are divided on this issue, some are enemies that want to make America great again and some are truly genuine, loving friends
The history of blacks and whites spans about 400 years, where would I even start to begin
Many of you might post this on social media before ever making it to the end…
…To the part where I tell you that I’m actually talking to you Mr. Black Man.

To Be Continued….

Leave a Reply

