Your Train is Coming In

This piece is called “Your Train is Coming In”. I was inspired by the many kids I see fighting the tough fight beyond anything I have ever fought. Your Train is Coming InWhen you volunteer at orphanages and camps all across the communities in different states you want nothing but the best for those kids who try, those kids that do not see color they see hard work and just people. I learned in this world that racism and slavery is a learned behavior and not something that is genetic.

The more time I spend away from America, the more I realize what slavery feels like in the modern era. People always told me that if you are a Black American in another country, you will witness what you are supposed to be treated like. This is not a shot at a particular group of people but based on my own personal experience in America.

I now understand why the counties in Atlanta are so segregated; their situational standard which opens our youth to a “pre-programmed” state of mind. The commercials that air on television, the demographic exposures to sites like “WorldStar” & “DatPiff.com” and many more influences limited the mental capacity of the growing youth. I can feel the difference in how I am welcomed here, in Australia than the very streets I grew up on.We have to set a better example for our kids. We have to be able to teach our kids the actualities of life. We have to be able to teach our kids the way history happened without oppressing or devaluing a certain group of people. I hope my art can one day be an inspiration to many others to uplift and grow.

Leave a Reply

